2014 FALL – Collaboration: Types, Technologies and Content

DATE, LOCATION & HOST

The fall 2014 PRISME Forum Technical Meeting was held Thursday, November 20, 2014 and was hosted by Amgen at its campus in Thousand Oaks, CA, USA.

 

The meeting was preceded by a networking reception the evening of Wednesday, November 19, 2014.

 

PRISME Forum Technical Meeting Chair: M. Hall Gregg, Amgen 
PRISME Forum Chair: Matteo di Tommaso, Pfizer

FALL 2014 TECH MEETING

Tuesday and Wednesday, the 18th and 19th of November, 2014

Meeting hosted by Amgen

COLLABORATION: TYPES, TECHNOLOGIES and CONTENT

Pharma R&D is becoming more networked as the pharmaceutical industry evolves to meet the challenges of loss of exclusivity and increased pressure to deliver medicines to serve unmet medical need at lower cost and more quickly. The externalization of R&D requires greater collaboration with many partners including academia, contract research organizations, medical centers, payers, providers, and indeed with each other; furthermore, this extends and can compete with existing internal collaboration needs. In parallel, cybersecurity is growing as an issue. Cybersecurity requires more than ever a focused approach to protecting intellectual property. Privacy regulations, to protect personal information, also create regulatory compliance responsibilities and constraints as to how, why, where and when data can be used and managed.

This increased need to collaborate in a networked, externalized environment requires IT solutions that enable virtual teams and facilitate the sharing of data while protecting intellectual property and data privacy. Some of the key points to be addressed are summarized below.

  1. Systems and processes that inter-connect with external partners are essential for real-time use of data and scientific decision making
  2. Scientific information systems must be able intentionally to silo data to support a rapidly changing set of intellectual property rights from acquisitions, collaborations and divestitures
  3. Collaboration technologies to enable virtual teams, increase effectiveness of R&D project teams and reduce travel cost and time are rapidly evolving
  4. Security solutions that enable collaboration while protecting against service disruption and loss of intellectual property are essential
  5. Privacy and other regulatory responsibilities create a complex set of compliance obligations – which vary across different geographies – that must be well understood and facilitated by IT.
  6. How do we use technology to find collaborators as well as to create, enhance, facilitate collaboration?
prisme-forum-technical-fall-meeting-nov-2014
Download
PRISME Forum Technical Fall Meeting Nov 2014
First Name Last Name Position/Title Company/Organization
Ingrid Akerblom Executive Director Information Systems Amgen Inc
Rob Albert Collaboration Specialist AstraZeneca
John Apathy Vice President Celgene Corporation
Narges Baniasadi CEO Bina Technologies
Sharon Barr CTO Bina Technologies
Dermot BarryWalsh Executive Director, Preclinical Devel. & Biologics IT Merck & Co., Inc.
Alastair Binnie V.P. Research Information Technology and Automation Bristol-Myers Squibb
Sandra Bush Director Knowledge Management Amgen
Dan Chapman AD Discovery Research Information Management UCB
Shubha Chaudhari Vice President Development Informatics Novartis Pharmaceuticals
Stephen Cleaver Executive Director/Global Head Informatics Systems Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research, INC.
Tom Crabbe Director External Discovery Solutions UCB
Matteo diTommaso Vice President, Research Business Technology Pfizer
Joel Ekstrom VP / Global Head R&D IT Daiichi-Sankyo
Brian Ellerman Head, Technology Scouting and Information Science Innovation Sanofi
Martin Erkens Head Informatics, pRED, Roche Innovation Center Basel F. Hoffmann-La Roche AG
Steven Frederick Head, Enterprise IT Moderna Therapeutics
Andreas Friese Director Research-IT Bayer HealthCare AG
Olivier Gien Global Head, R&D Health Information Technologies Sanofi
Jordin Green Marketing Lead, Healthcare and Life Sciences Amazon Web Services
Hall Gregg Vice President, R&D Informatics Amgen
Frances Grote Senior Director, Clinical Vendor Management Biogen Idec
Tim Guleri Managing Director Sierra Ventures
Greg Hamilton Enterprise Account Manager Beam
Margaret Keegan SVP, Enterprise Solutions Development Quintiles
Andrea Kirby Program Director Merck
Preben Klavsen Director, Regulator Informatics H. lundbeck A/S
Guenther Kurapkat Director, IS BioPharma R&D Merck KGaA
Martin Leach VP, R&D IT, Data Sciences Biogen Idec
Sebastien Lefebvre Director R&D IT Platforms Biogen Idec
Patrick Loerch Director Merck & Co
Thomas Lønborg-Jensen VP R&D Project Execution Novo Nordisk A/S
Tomoyuki Matsunaga Director, Research Systems Takeda Pharmaceutical
James McGurk Director Diaachi Sankyo
Spencer Mott Vice President Chief Information Security Officer Amgen
James OKeefe Vice President, Life Sciences R&D Paragon Solutions, Inc.
Scott Oloff Head of IT RD&M Enablement Boehringer Ingelheim
Angel Pizarro Technical Business Development Manager Amazon Web Services, Inc.
James Rinaldi Chief Information Officer Jet Propultion Laboratory
Alex Schuleit Senior Business IT Development Manager H. Lundbeck A/S
David Sedlock Head, Global Research IT Takeda Pharmaceuticals International Co.
Jianying Shi Director of R&D IT Ipsen
Linda Smart Sr Director IS/R&D Allergan
Scott Snyder EVP Sample Management Services Evotec AG
Susie Stephens Sr. Director Oncology & West Coast BT Pfizer
Jason Swift UK Head R&D Information AstraZeneca
Ashok Upadhyay Global Head, Life Sciences R&D, Mfg. / SCM Practice HCL Technologies
Nick Wright Head R&D Information AstraZeneca
[s2If is_user_logged_in()]
First Name Last Name Position/Title Company/Organization Email Address
Ingrid Akerblom Executive Director Information Systems Amgen Inc akerblom@amgen.com
Rob Albert Collaboration Specialist AstraZeneca robert.albert@astrazeneca.com
John Apathy Vice President Celgene Corporation japathy@celgene.com
Narges Baniasadi CEO Bina Technologies narges@bina.com
Sharon Barr CTO Bina Technologies sharon@bina.com
Dermot BarryWalsh Executive Director, Preclinical Devel. & Biologics IT Merck & Co., Inc. dermot_barrywalsh@merck.com
Alastair Binnie V.P. Research Information Technology and Automation Bristol-Myers Squibb alastair.binnie@bms.com
Sandra Bush Director Knowledge Management Amgen slbush@amgen.com
Dan Chapman AD Discovery Research Information Management UCB Dan.chapman@ucb.com
Shubha Chaudhari Vice President Development Informatics Novartis Pharmaceuticals shubha.chaudhari@novartis.com
Stephen Cleaver Executive Director/Global Head Informatics Systems Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research, INC. stephen.cleaver@novartis.com
Tom Crabbe Director External Discovery Solutions UCB tom.crabbe@ucb.com
Matteo diTommaso Vice President, Research Business Technology Pfizer matteo.ditommaso@pfizer.com
Joel Ekstrom VP / Global Head R&D IT Daiichi-Sankyo jekstrom@dsi.com
Brian Ellerman Head, Technology Scouting and Information Science Innovation Sanofi brian.ellerman@sanofi.com
Martin Erkens Head Informatics, pRED, Roche Innovation Center Basel F. Hoffmann-La Roche AG martin.erkens@roche.com
Steven Frederick Head, Enterprise IT Moderna Therapeutics steven.frederick@modernatx.com
Andreas Friese Director Research-IT Bayer HealthCare AG andreas.friese@bayer.com
Olivier Gien Global Head, R&D Health Information Technologies Sanofi olivier.gien@sanofi.com
Jordin Green Marketing Lead, Healthcare and Life Sciences Amazon Web Services jording@amazon.com
Hall Gregg Vice President, R&D Informatics Amgen mgregg@amgen.com
Frances Grote Senior Director, Clinical Vendor Management Biogen Idec frances.grote@biogenidec.com
Tim Guleri Managing Director Sierra Ventures dora@sierraventures.com
Greg Hamilton Enterprise Account Manager Beam ghamilt@gmail.com
Margaret Keegan SVP, Enterprise Solutions Development Quintiles margaret.keegan@quintiles.com
Andrea Kirby Program Director Merck Andrea.Kirby@Merck.com
Preben Klavsen Director, Regulator Informatics H. lundbeck A/S prkl@lundbeck.com
Guenther Kurapkat Director, IS BioPharma R&D Merck KGaA guenther.kurapkat@merckgroup.com
Martin Leach VP, R&D IT, Data Sciences Biogen Idec martin.leach@biogenidec.com
Sebastien Lefebvre Director R&D IT Platforms Biogen Idec sebastien.lefebvre@biogenidec.com
Patrick Loerch Director Merck & Co patrick_loerch@merck.com
Thomas Lønborg-Jensen VP R&D Project Execution Novo Nordisk A/S tlbj@novonordisk.com
Tomoyuki Matsunaga Director, Research Systems Takeda Pharmaceutical tomoyuki.matsunaga@takeda.com
James McGurk Director Diaachi Sankyo jmcgurk@dsi.com
Spencer Mott Vice President Chief Information Security Officer Amgen smott@amgen.com
James OKeefe Vice President, Life Sciences R&D Paragon Solutions, Inc. jokeefe@consultparagon.com
Scott Oloff Head of IT RD&M Enablement Boehringer Ingelheim scott.oloff@boehringer-ingelheim.com
Angel Pizarro Technical Business Development Manager Amazon Web Services, Inc. pizarroa@amazon.com
James Rinaldi Chief Information Officer Jet Propultion Laboratory james.j.rinaldi@jpl.nasa.gov
Alex Schuleit Senior Business IT Development Manager H. Lundbeck A/S alje@lundbeck.com
David Sedlock Head, Global Research IT Takeda Pharmaceuticals International Co. David.Sedlock@takeda.com
Jianying Shi Director of R&D IT Ipsen jianying.shi@ipsen.com
Linda Smart Sr Director IS/R&D Allergan smart_linda@allergan.com
Scott Snyder EVP Sample Management Services Evotec AG scott.snyder@evotec.com
Susie Stephens Sr. Director Oncology & West Coast BT Pfizer susan.stephens@pfizer.com
Jason Swift UK Head R&D Information AstraZeneca Jason.swift@astrazeneca.com
Ashok Upadhyay Global Head, Life Sciences R&D, Mfg. / SCM Practice HCL Technologies ashok.upadhyay@hcl.com
Nick Wright Head R&D Information AstraZeneca Nick.Wright@astrazeneca.com
[/s2If][s2If !is_user_logged_in()] Please Log In or Register to view this content. [/s2If]

LECTURES

Rinaldi Amgen Presentation 11-20-2014rinaldi-amgen-presentation-11-20-2014
Download

Crabbecrabbe
Download

Spencer MOTTspencer-mott
Download

POSTERS

P1 – Merck Merck_PRISME_2014merck_prisme_2014
Download

P5 – AstraZeneca PRISME_Poster_AZprisme_poster_az
Download

P7 – BINA PRISME_Poster_BINAprisme_poster_bina
Download